Writing Goals and NaNo Fun

Welcome to my blog!  I decided to update in order to concentrate on my writing.  A website dedicated to my art will follow, I promise!  Both writing and art are very important to me so it seemed sensible to separate them and give each the attention they deserve.  Also I’m hoping this might make me a more diligent blogger but we’ll have to wait and see!

At the moment I’m working on a short story called “Waking Up” which I will send to an online magazine based right here in Scotland.  The closing date is on Thursday though so I should really stop procrastinating and get it finished!

I’m also intending to take part in NaNoWriMo again this year (National Novel Writing Month which takes place in November every year).  I’ve done it a couple of times but never won one yet.  My first attempt ended at a pitiful 1000 words but last years went much better and I almost got there with 45,000 words.  Who’d have guessed I knew that many words?  I think my problem was that by the time it got to the last couple of days I was sick of looking at my novel.  I’ve never gone back to it again.  I still like the idea but I really need to build myself up to it.  The whole process seems to have scarred me.  Hopefully that won’t happen again this year!  I’m quite excited about it so I’ll post regular updates on my progress (or lack of!).

Join in the novel writing fun or just see what all the fuss is about.

