Monday Muse

For some, motivation dwindles as the week goes on. After a full week of working you maybe don’t feel much in the mood for writing or doing anything creative at all. For others the beginning of the week is the killer; you might be in the mood if it weren’t for the fact you have to go to work, or you’ve already had a full weekend of working or looking after children (what’s the deal with those anyway?).

And sometimes, just the thought of getting started is so daunting you instantly remember a million other things you have to do that just can’t wait, like alphabetising your books. That’s kind of writing related isn’t it?

Basically everyone just needs a kick up the arse sometimes. Including myself. It’s hard to kick your own bum though and after many failed attempts, ending with me in a heap on the floor no closer to writing anything, I’ve found a less painful way of doing just that.

Finding inspiration from others is the best way, I’ve discovered, of kicking myself up the arse. When I see the amazing things some people have achieved, whether it’s in writing, art or anything creative, it spurs me to try to achieve something myself. Not in an envious way but in a “wow, I wonder if I could create something that awesome?” way.

And rather than keeping these incredible finds to myself, I’ve decided to share them, because I grew up in the 80’s and 90’s and that’s what the Care Bears taught me. The first one I want to share is these beautiful sculptures by Dalton Ghetti.

Image

He is an artist based in the USA and he crafts these intricate sculptures out of pencil lead. It took me a minute to realise what I was looking at and when I did realise, my mind was effectively blown. It can take Ghetti months or even years to complete one piece. Imagine the painstaking attention to detail as he carefully chips away at each tiny sculpture.

It must have taken him years to learn the skills needed to be able to do such a thing. But it’s paid off because he is bringing amazement and wonder to people and, hopefully, he gets pleasure out of it. It shows what is possible when you really put in the effort.

I’ve often likened my writing style to sculpting: I tend to vomit a first draft of ungainly words onto a page and then craft it into the shape I want, chipping away until I get it right. It’s not always so successful, sometimes the sculpture is a bit wonky and in danger of toppling over, but for the most part it works well for me. Everyone is different of course.

Seeing Dalton Ghetti’s amazing work has set me up for the week and if you would like to see more check it out here.

7 thoughts on “Monday Muse

    • Of course! I’ve had many a day where I’ve thought “man, this pencil is so boring, if only there was a tiny sculpture of a giraffe on the end to make it more interesting” 🙂

  1. I’m not sure if it is just me, but that sculpture looks rather reminiscent of the alien that exploded out of John Hurt’s abdomen in the film ‘Alien’. Even the stripped-back wood looks oddly like his character’s splayed intestines!

    That is one scary pencil….

    Heather xxx

    • You’re right Heather, I think that’s what it’s meant to be! I hope so anyway otherwise Mr Ghetti has got some issues. His other pencils are not so scary, maybe that was why I was drawn (pun definitely intended) to that particular one.

      Sarah 🙂

      • I’m so glad that it wasn’t just my warped imagination! I’d find this artist’s work slightly less scary if he perhaps sculpted nice fluffy bunny rabbits or cute kittens, although I don’t suppose he does…

        Heather xxx

Leave a Reply

