Looking Back Over My Shoulder

It’s nice to look back from the safe vantage point of a Friday, knowing that you’re about to leave the week behind. It’s been an exciting week for me but then I don’t get out much. I’ve had to construct a particularly difficult review for a game that just wasn’t very good, I’ve achieved an award, I’ve managed to squeeze in some artwork and I made a pie. The pie is especially important because I haven’t baked anything in a while and also hadn’t used wholemeal flour before in pastry, so I was apprehensive. But it worked and much delighted munching occurred.

Before this swiftly turns into a crafting and baking blog (though that could be fun and I could make analogies as to how baking is like writing; you need all the right ingredients and to know how to put it together), I’d better talk about writing. Unfortunately there’s not much to report. Apart from my blog and the tricksy review, I haven’t done that much this week. I have drafted a story for a competition but I haven’t written the first draft yet. Strangely though, I don’t feel bad about it, and usually I do if I don’t write regularly. I posted last week that I felt I needed to take a short break from it and, while stopping completely proved to be near impossible, I have applied the brakes this week and worked on other things instead.

And it seems to be paying off. I feel refreshed and motivated. Long may it continue!

Image

5 thoughts on “Looking Back Over My Shoulder

  1. It’s good to take a break from writing sometimes…and whenever I get stuck on a tricky writing issue…I turn to baking muffins or cup cakes…quick and simple to make in 30 minutes, they take my mind off the writing bug and when I returned to my desk, the delicious baking smells wafting through the house, I’m inspired and ready to tackle whatever irritating plot twists my characters are about to throw at me. Congrats on making the wholemeal flour work for you – I’ve yet to master that.

      • Too true, it is a part of writing that makes it so much fun and so intriguing. Just as you think you have a handle on it, something comes and makes you reconsider. Writing is a constant journey and one in which we have no map. Guess it’s up to our heart and minds to be our guide.

        Heather xxx

Leave a Reply

