WWW Wednesdays – March 26th

This is a fun game I recently became aware of on on MizB’s blog, Should Be Reading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading

Batman: Knightfall Vol 2 – Knightquest

Image

Image courtesy of Amazon UK

I like to buffer my “sensible” novel reading with the odd comic and this one has been on my shelf for a while now. It’s quite a big one (that’s what she said) so I’ve been putting it off and I have to admit I’m not enjoying it as much as I hoped. It takes place in the aftermath of Batman’s devastating encounter with Bane which occurred at the end of Vol 1. I won’t spoil anything but if you’ve seen The Dark Knight Rises, it’s pretty much like that. While Bruce Wayne is recovering, Azrael takes up the mantle of the bat, with varying degrees of success. He is much more brutal than Wayne and doesn’t go in so much for the detective work, which makes up a huge part of Batman’s job. It could be because Bruce Wayne isn’t in this in one that I’m not enjoying it so much. I’m about half way through so I should have it finished soon.

Recently Finished

Bring Up The Bodies by Hilary Mantel

Image

Image courtesy of Amazon UK

Another sequel! I enjoyed Wolf Hall so much I had to read the next instalment of the Thomas Cromwell saga. The first book was centred around the rise of Anne Boleyn and this book deals with her fall from grace. It’s a fairly tragic story, all things considered, and throughout reading I was aware of everything being geared towards the end and the final scenes. It’s impressive that the story and the characters could still be so gripping even when you know what’s going to happen. I suppose it’s a skill you need to learn if you want to be a successful historical fiction writer and Hilary Mantel has certainly mastered it. Though, I will say it didn’t have the impact of the first book and I would rate Wolf Hall as a superior novel. Maybe I was just used to her style. I definitely enjoyed being back in Cromwell’s company though. Highly recommended.

What’s Next?

Atonement by Ian McEwan

Image

Image courtesy of Amazon UK

I’m late in getting to this one but I’ve heard good things about it. (Haven’t seen the film) This will be the first of McEwan’s books I’ve read. Here’s the blurb:

On the hottest day of the summer of 1935, 13 year old Briony Tallis sees her sister Cecilia strip off her clothes and plunge into the fountain in the garden of her country house. Watching her is Robbie Turner, her childhood friend who, like Cecilia, has recently come down from Cambridge.

By the end of that day the lives of all three will have been changed forever. Robbie and Cecilia will have crossed a boundary they had not even imagined at its start, and will have become victims of the younger girl’s imagination. Briony will have witnessed mysteries and committed a crime for which she will spend the rest of her life trying to atone.

Sounds intriguing! I’ll let you know how it turns out.

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays – March 26th

Leave a Reply

