Another Light Goes Out

As any reader/writer/living person will undoubtedly know, the great Maya Angelou passed away yesterday. She is one of my greatest inspirations for writing. Her work is soulful and beautiful, and she was a great advocate for good causes.

While it is sad she has passed on, we can be consoled by the knowledge that she had a full, interesting life and that she has left a lasting legacy behind to inspire future generations. It’s not just artists who will influenced by her but anyone who believes in equality and making the world a better place.

I feel sad just writing this and it seems that too many of my posts lately have been remembering heroes of mine who are gone (only two actually but that’s still too many). You always believe that your idols are immortal so it comes as a shock when they are gone. It’s right that I should feel sadness at Maya Angelou’s passing but I will also honour her memory. I think I will reread I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. It’s a fantastic novel and I recommend it to anyone.

Thank you, Maya Angelou, and rest in peace.

angelou3-sized

4 thoughts on “Another Light Goes Out

    • Very true! To think we can create anything just by putting pen to paper and it will last a lifetime…it’s a wonderful thought. Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

