Monday Muse – Nine Inch Nails

Mostly inspired by my attending their recent concert in Glasgow, this weeks Monday Muse is Nine Inch Nails, fronted by the inimitable Trent Reznor. I’ve been a huge fan of the Nails (as I’ve just affectionately dubbed the band) for years and they got me through some tough times when I was younger. There are plenty of other artists who I admire and I hope to talk about them all at some point; music is a great inspiration for art and writing. But NIN are one of the few bands who I can still listen to with as much admiration as when I was younger. In fact I probably appreciate them even more because now I get a lot of the stuff that Reznor writes about.

Founded in 1988, Reznor is actually the only official member of NIN. He is the main writer, producer and instrumentalist. After recording a new album, Reznor usually assembles a live band to join him on tour and even here the set up can change in accordance with the music. The concerts, as I witnessed, are a spectacular show of lights and other visuals.

Reznor experiments with a variety of genres and this is what has placed him and NIN as my Monday Muse. Anyone who reads my blog knows how much I love someone who thinks outside the box and pushes boundaries and Nine Inch Nails have definitely done this multiple times over the years. Even Reznor’s approach to creating music is unusual and inspiring.

Beginning life as an underground band, NIN quickly gained popularity during the 90’s with some highly influential records and have won several awards as a result. 

Nine Inch Nails are a band I like to listen to no matter what mood I’m in; there is a song and an album for every emotion. Whether I’m feeling melancholy, contemplative, angry (which admittedly doesn’t happen so much now I’m older and mellowed) or even happy. I love how every song means something, that there’s a story behind everything Reznor says or in the beautiful piano solo’s he plays. And I’m all about the story.

Nine Inch Nails – The Downward Spiral (Full album) (Because I couldn’t pick just one song.)

Leave a Reply

